Diese Seite in Deutsch anzeigen. Show this page in english. Show this page in english. Afficher cette page en français.

What does the Emergency series mean to you?

Emergency has always been our big project. The series has been with us since 1998. It had been a while since we last worked on Emergency; so, the whole team was enthusiastic when we started to tackle Emergency 2012. The new installment has us all fired up in the best of senses.
What is your opinion of firefighters and people working in relief organizations?

Are you a volunteer in this field yourself?

Through my work on the Emergency series, I have been seriously involved with this topic for a long time, and also consulted expert firefighters. Of course, we are mainly interested in equipment, technology, and the organization of rescue missions. No game or movie can ever let you experience what it really means to pull an injured person from a burning vehicle. Only real firefighters and rescue workers go through that. I am not actively involved with firefighting, the Red Cross or the Agency for Technical Relief, but some of our staff members are. I deeply respect all those people who volunteer their time to help others, or work in this field.

The Emergency series is also popular with people who actually work on rescue teams. How do you react to criticism about certain factors that are not represented very realistically?


At this point, I need to state clearly that we are producing a game. The most important aspect of a game is that it must be fun to play, or nobody would bother with it. Therefore, we cannot aspire to emulate reality down to the last detail. We need to simplify here and there in order to make Emergency an interesting game to play. Still, we have received many valuable suggestions from the community, some of which we were able to incorporate in the game. Of course, the situation would be different with realistic training software for firefighters, for example. We are currently developing a software title to that purpose, by the name of Emergency Professional.

What aspects of Emergency 2012 make you especially proud?


I am very happy that we were able to upgrade the series by incorporating state-of-the-art graphics in Emergency 2012. The game features bump mapping, per-pixel lighting, ambient occlusion, and stunning particle effects for the smoke. But what I find most important are the dynamic lighting effects. In a rescue simulation, you will have fire and blue emergency lights. The overall atmosphere is greatly enhanced when flames and blue lights illuminate the surroundings as well, creating a glorious play of colors. I am also quite pleased with the controls. I have already watched a few people play, journalists for example, who were not familiar with the series and were still able to get the hang of it quite easily. Emergency 2012 can be controlled using half as many clicks as were necessary in Emergency 4. We are very happy with the result because Emergency 2012 has a really good feel to it. After all, the challenge should be mastering the tasks within the game, not learning how to use the controls.

Which parts would you have liked to improve even further?


I know that modding is quite an important topic for the Emergency community. In the past, we have been able to support this by providing an editor. We would have liked to do the same this time around. However, for one thing, the technical requirements have become a lot more complicated and sophisticated. It takes experienced staff these days to work with our internal design programs. Also, it is, of course, a matter of resources. We cannot simply publish our tools and, since we are not a large company, we are forced to set priorities in development. We cannot produce a marketable game that features outdated graphics, and players' demands on usability are constantly increasing. Therefore, we decided to focus on those two aspects in order to be able to continue the Emergency series at all.

You programmed your first game more than 25 years ago, and it was marketed professionally right away. What advice can you give young people who want to work in the games industry these days?


Yes, that would be "Lapis Philosophorum: The Philosopher's Stone" for C64. For me, that was a really big thing back then. Today, there are so many more options, but expectations have grown as well. There are still various ways of joining the games industry, including studying computer science and becoming a programmer, or different ways of learning graphics and sound design. Luckily, there is a growing trend towards specialized training centers such as the Games Academy in Berlin. I teach there myself as head of the Producing division, and I have been able to find quite a few good employees for Quadriga Games in Potsdam that way.

Diese Seite in Deutsch anzeigen. Show this page in english. Show this page in english. Afficher cette page en français.

Was bedeutet die Emergency-Serie für dich?

Emergency war immer das große Projekt für uns. Die Serie begleitet uns seit 1998. Wir haben jetzt längere Zeit kein Emergency mehr gemacht. Da hat sich das ganze Team gefreut, als wir Emergency 2012 in Angriff genommen haben. Wir sind im besten Sinne Feuer und Flamme für den neuen Teil.

Was denkst du über Feuerwehrleute und Menschen in Hilfsorganisationen? Engagierst du dich selbst?


Durch die Arbeit an den Emergency-Teilen habe ich mich oft und eingehend mit dem Thema beschäftigt und auch Feuerwehr-Experten zu Raten gezogen. Dabei spielen für uns natürlich die Ausrüstung, die Technik und der Ablauf von Einsätzen die wichtigste Rolle. Was es aber wirklich heißt, einen Verletzten aus einem brennenden Auto zu ziehen, das kann kein Spiel oder Film dieser Welt vermitteln. Dies sind die Erfahrungen der echten Feuerwehrleute und Rettungskräfte. Ich selbst bin tatsächlich weder in der Feuerwehr noch beim THW oder DRK, aber einige Mitarbeiter von uns. Alle Menschen, die sich dort in ihrer Freizeit für andere engagieren oder beruflich tätig sind, haben meine absolute Hochachtung.

Die Emergency-Reihe ist auch bei den Leuten im Rettungswesen sehr beliebt. Wie reagierst du auf Einwände, dass dieser oder jener Punkt nicht ganz realistisch umgesetzt ist?

Hier muss ich ganz klar sagen, dass wir ein Spiel machen. Ein Spiel muss vor allen anderen Dingen Spaß machen – sonst würde es niemand spielen wollen. Daher kann es nicht unser Anspruch sein, die Wirklichkeit 1:1 simulieren zu wollen. Wir müssen die eine oder andere Vereinfachung einbringen, damit Emergency als Spiel Spaß macht. Trotzdem haben wir aus der Community schon viele wertvolle Hinweise erhalten, von denen wir einige auch übernehmen konnten. Ganz anders wäre die Lage übrigens bei einer realistischen Trainingssoftware, zum Beispiel für die Feuerwehr.  Eine solche Software namens Emergency Professional haben wir derzeit in Entwicklung.

Worauf bist du bei Emergency 2012 besonders stolz?


Besonders froh bin ich, dass wir die Serie mit Emergency 2012 grafisch auf die Höhe der Zeit gebracht haben. Bumpmapping, Per-Pixel-Lighting, Ambient-Occlusion und schöne Partikeleffekte für den Rauch sind drin. Das wichtigste ist für mich aber die dynamische Beleuchtung. In so einem Rettungsspiel hat man Feuer, Blaulichter… das ist ganz elementar für die Stimmung, wenn der Feuerschein oder die Blaulichter auch die Umgebung mitbeleuchten und dadurch neue Farbspiele erzeugen. Ich freue mich auch sehr über die Steuerung. Ich habe bislang einige Leute, zum Beispiel Journalisten, spielen sehen, die die Serie nicht kannten, sich aber sofort problemlos zurechtgefunden haben. Gegenüber Emergency 4 kann man Emergency 2012 mit nur halb so vielen Klicks steuern. Mit dem Ergebnis sind wir sehr zufrieden, weil Emergency 2012 sich wirklich gut anfühlt. Die Herausforderung soll ja eine spielerische sein und nicht im Erlernen der Steuerung bestehen.

Was hättet ihr gerne noch besser gemacht?


Ich weiß, dass das Thema Modding für die Emergency-Community ein ganz wichtiges ist. In der Vergangenheit konnten wir das mit einem von uns bereitgestellten Editor unterstützen. Das hätten wir auch dieses Mal gerne wieder getan. Zum einen sind aber die technischen Voraussetzungen viel komplizierter und aufwändiger geworden. Für unsere internen Designprogramme braucht es schon Fachleute, die damit umgehen können. Zum anderen ist es natürlich auch ein Ressourcenproblem. Unsere Tools dürfen nicht ohne weiteres veröffentlicht werden und als eher kleiner Entwickler sind wir einfach gezwungen, in der Entwicklung Prioritäten zu setzen. Mit einer hoffnungslos veralteten Grafik können wir kein marktfähiges Spiel produzieren, und auch die Anforderungen der Spieler an die Usability steigen. Deshalb war es unsere Entscheidung, uns auf diese beiden Punkte zu konzentrieren, damit es mit Emergency überhaupt weitergehen kann.

Du hast schon vor über 25 Jahren dein erstes Spiel programmiert, das gleich professionell vermarktet worden ist. Was würdest du jungen Leuten raten, die
heute in die Spieleentwicklung wollen?

Ja, das war „Der Stein der Weisen“ für C64. Für mich war das damals eine ganz tolle Sache. Heute gibt es viel mehr Möglichkeiten, aber gleichzeitig sind auch die Ansprüche gestiegen. In die Spieleindustrie führen immer noch verschiedene Wege, zum Beispiel ein Informatikstudium für die Programmierung oder verschiedene Ausbildungswege im Grafik- und Sounddesign. Glücklicherweise gibt es aber auch zunehmend spezialisierte Einrichtungen wie die Games Academy in Berlin. Ich unterrichte dort selbst als Fachbereichsleiter für Producing und habe für Quadriga Games in Potsdam schon etliche gute Mitarbeiter finden können.

  • Emergency 2012 auf facebook
  • Emergency 2012 auf youtube